Ivory Tower Project

A New Breed of Old School Rockers

About Us

The phrase ‘Ivory Tower’ has long been a metaphor for a place of refuge from the rest of the world. For singer/songwriter Mark Regula of the critically acclaimed modern vintage rock band Ivory Tower Project, this figurative ideal resonates deeply. The New York City-based band has functioned as a safe haven for its members to process and, ultimately, triumph over trying times.

The group’s greatest victory is its rousing and emotive sophomore album; ‘How Much More?’. It’s an album that bids farewell to a key collaborator, co-founder and dear friend while it also welcomes a new era as Ivory Tower Project gears up for more recordings and fresh creative partnerships.  

“For me, the name Ivory Tower always conveyed a feeling of escapism,” reveals singer, songwriter, co-founder and multi instrumentalist Mark Regula. “The music has been where my heart and mind can live when everything around me goes wrong. It’s been my savior.”

Ivory Tower Project specializes in the majestic power rock of the 1970s and early 1980s. The songs burst with stirring vocal melodies, soaring vocal harmonies, polished musicianship, heartfelt lyrics, and imaginative arrangements.  The band is part of a new breed of Classic Rock purists preserving the traditions set forth by masters such as 1970s Styx, Queen, Foreigner, and Boston. ITP has garnered praise from a variety of sources, including The Entertainment Bank,The Ripple Effect, Mossip,, and Boom Boom Chick, among others. The group’s debut: 2008’s ‘Red Hot’ (Guerilla Records), has received rave reviews and airplay on over 800 radio stations in 33 countries. As a result, tracks from that CD earned them nominations in a few categories in both the 2015 and 2016 Nashville Universe Awards

Much like Boston and Steely Dan, and other purveyors of exquisite pop-rock, Ivory Tower Project is not so much a band as it is a collective of songwriters. Mark Regula and lyricist Johnny Jace have been the creative core since the 1980s. In 2003, Johnny passed away, and the lyrics on ‘How Much More?’ are some of the last he’s written. In 1983, original drummer Sal DiAngelo also passed away. And in 2009, Mark Regula survived a car accident that has since left him barely able to walk, and currently battling chronic pain. In the face of it all, Regula has valiantly upheld Ivory Tower Project.

In the wake of all the loss, longtime friend, collaborator and, hotshot studio guitarist, Tony Novarro has emerged a central creative force. Currently, Ivory Tower Project is: Mark Regula on vocals, keyboards, guitar, bass, and percussion, with Novarro functioning as recording engineer, guitarist, backing vocalist, and co-songwriter. A stable of guest studio musicians have, and continue to work with them on their various recording projects.

ITP's sophomore CD How Much MoreThe title of ITP’s sophomore CD; ‘How Much More?’, references the band’s own challenging journey. "In life, you sometimes find yourself waiting for a good thing to happen or a bad thing to end,” Regula says. “It’s like ‘How much more can we take?’ That sentiment resonated with me and Johnny [former songwriting collaborator].” He continues:  “The struggle can be tough, but it can also be important in that, if you don’t give up, you learn something.”

‘How Much More?’ posits a query and provides a comforting prescription of answers in song. The album manages to be soothing, seething, and stirring.  The title track unfolds from a boldly vulnerable piano ballad with smoldering emotionality to an anthemic climax with burly classic rock guitars. “That’s a song about being frustrated with a friend. In it, I ask, ‘How many times must I be a victim of your lies?’  The feeling is how much more can I take or should I take,” Regula says. 

On "The Ides of March (Et tu Brute)" ITP manage to create their own niche of Shakespearian rock through melding classic texts with Classic Rock in the grand theatrical tradition of Queen.  Guitarist Tony Novarro turns in the touching soulful rock gem, “Please Tell Me,” a tribute to a long lost friend, original drummer Sal DiAngelo.  The tracks “Ring Around Rosie” and “Way Too Late” are visceral and uplifting. “Ring Around Rosie” is a stately love song overflowing with amorous vibes and lush production touches.  The invigorating “Way Too Late” is a hard driving pop-rock song with galloping guitars that evoke 1970s Styx, Billy Idol and Survivor.

ITP had commissioned cartoonist Tim Ross (of the indie band Apology None) to produce a fully animated cartoon music video for their single: “Ring Around Rosie”. In 2018 – Two tracks from ‘How Much More?’ were nominated for the 2018 Nashville Universe Awards. Additionally, ITP was nominated in The Josie Music Awards for BAND of the YEAR (Rock) * ALBUM of the YEAR * and in 2019: VIDEO of the YEAR.

On November 5, 2019 - ITP  released a digital 4 song EP. Three tracks will be cover songs ranging from R&B, Blues and Classic Rock. A fourth track will be an original Jazz/Rock/Fusion instrumental.

In 2020 - ITP won 'Artist of the Year' (for the 2nd year in a row) in 'Independent Corner's annual unsigned artist competition on Cygnus Radio.  ITP was also nominated in the Hollywood Music in Media Awards (HMMA) for Adult Contemporary/AAA for their video "Ring Around Rosie". Additionally, NBC Universal and DreamWorks Animation have contracted ITP in a sync-license deal. A clip of the single: "My Name" (from their debut single: 'Red Hot') is on episode 106 of the Netflix original television series: "Wizards - Tales of Arcadia". 

However reflecting back on ITP’s journey thus far, Regula says: “Music is what has kept us going.  It’s been our light during the darkness of loss. This album 'How Much More?' is a memorial to those no longer here with us. I hope this music is as healing and cathartic for others as it has been for us. I hope it gives people a chance to escape their pain and fears, and feel hope.”


Written by: Lorne Behrman

'How Much More?' Review

"This band ROCKS. No, I mean they really ROCK! ... The passion in the music & the words (and the) blend of music from the 70’s & 80’s to make that great “real” sound. This album ['How Much More?'] was even better than the first one...Go buy this album today. I rate this 5 out of 5 Music Guru Stars." -- The Music Guru, Music Guru Radio, Pennsylvania, USA 


Group Members:

Mark Regula: Vocals, keyboards, acoustic guitars, percussion, bass, drums. 
Tony Novarro: Guitars, back vocals, bass, percussion, drums, engineer.  
Former Lyricist: Johnny Jace

Studio Musicians:

Ivan Elias: Bass (formerly with Patty Smyth & Scandal); Richie Cannata: Sax (formerly with Billy Joel); Tex Prothro: Saxophone, flute; Mike Carbone: Drums, percussion; Joey Bruno: Electronic Drums, percussion; Frank Vella: Back vocals; Tyrone Johnson: Bass
Sal DiAngelo: Drums, acoustic guitars, vocals; Henry Kessler: Saxophones, vocals, keyboards
Kevin Joyce: Bass; Sharon Wolfe: Vocals; Zoe Grella: Percussion

'Red Hot'

Listen to ITP's debut CD 'Red Hot' below or visit us on ReverbNation for more